To Cinda

Cinda and Priya Ellisor

Cinda Cyrus left us on December 17, 2011.

It has been a year now, and she is very much missed.

But I find it hard to believe she’s really gone. Whenever I see a totally outrageous article (and there are so many these days) about politics, I want to e-mail it to her. Cinda was a great e-mailer herself.  She kept all her friends informed about the latest political shenanigans.  We need Cinda’s insight, intelligence, humor and compassion as we deal with all these crazy things that are going on.

Cinda loved books, writing, dogs, and helping people. She always shared her causes with her friends. She had strong opinions and a good heart.

She had faith. I know it sustained her.

She edited her friends’ writing and gave them encouragement and support.

Cinda had a way of getting people to give their best to whatever they were doing. Something along the lines of  “I know you can do this.”

I’m so sorry she wasn’t here for the 2012 election. Or maybe she was and I just couldn’t see her. I don’t know about the ways of heaven and earth. I just know I miss my friend.

Here’s a couple of paragaphs from an e-mail letter I received from her awhile back concerning bigotry. It is very Cinda.

“Proselytizing.  No one has a very good record in this category.  Not the Muslims.  Not the Christians.  Not the Hindus.  Not the officially declared atheists.  Not even the Buddhists are blemish free.  Once fanaticism takes over, God weeps, I am convinced.  And fanaticism is not limited to religion.  In fact I think that today xenophobia frequently travels under the false flag of religion.  Ditto homophobia.  Ditto sexism.  All of which, I am quite sure, makes God very cranky.

Let me assure you that I do not turn a blind eye to those who threaten this country.  But I see a sizable threat WITHIN this country from those who would mangle American  principles through xenophobia or any other form of hate.  We must not save the village by burning it down.”

Cardinal braving the snow

Cardinal braving the snow (Photo credit: alex ranaldi)

Fly on, my friend.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “To Cinda

  1. Gale, this was beautiful. I think of Cinda so often. There are only a few people in a lifetime with the emotional capacity that Cinda had. I am always seeing funny things I want to share with her, books I want to talk about, personal news to share, follies to laugh about. There are a lot of people in the world but Cinda was special. It’s hard to think of never picking up the phone again and hearing her shout “HelLO!” I often think of her sayings, like “Get me a gun” or “People. They’re no damn good.” I hope Cinda was right about the afterlife, and I look forward to seeing her again someday.

  2. I know what you mean, Liz. I find it hard to believe I can’t pick up the phone and talk to her. She had so much personality. So much presence. It’s good to hear from you. I have a bookmark from Silver Springs, Maryland she gave me a long time. It had a cardinal in the snow and the words on it were “The growth of the soul is a slow growth.” That’s why I wanted to put a cardinal on the blog.

  3. So one of the things I miss and no one else can supply is her crazy accent. I adored listening to her–she could be saying just about anything (and did) and I had a small swoon. One, she told us she was reading for seeing impaired/blind. Really? Can you imagine? I hope it was Faulkner, but I was uncomfortable asking. At the end of her life, she had the nurses tape all the cards that people sent her to the walls of her hospital room. We spend about an hour opening and reading aloud, and her loud chuckle filled the room with each re-reading. I miss her.

  4. CInda had a very definite VOICE. I can still hear it. That’s why I find it hard to believe she’s gone. Yes, she had a great laugh.

  5. Some people shine so brightly, it’s difficult to realize they’re gone. Maybe that’s because we hold them so.securely in our hearts. Cinda sounds like that kind of person. I wish I could have known her.

  6. I wish you could have met her Kathy. She had lots of books all over the place. I recall one time I was visiting her at her house in Bastrop and there was a stack of books near her bed in the “to read” pile. Lots of bookshelves. We gave each other books as gifts. One Christmas she had an amaryllis bulb mailed to my house. It was very pretty.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

Bike Hutto

Building Bicycling Advocacy and Community in Hutto, TX

It's a long story ...

a light-hearted look at life by Tresha Barger

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Ramona DeFelice Long

Author and Editor

Sisters in Crime ~ Heart of Texas Chapter

Promoting Women Crime Writers

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

Wicked Cozy Authors

Mysteries with a New England Accent

sharechair

Everyday Technology for Everyday Folks

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

V.P. Chandler

Writer of Mystery and Suspense

The Writer's Saga

Battles. Heroism. Triumph. Death?

15 Minutes of Fame

. . . more or less

Martha Alderson aka Plot Whisperer

Head out to the unknown on your trusty camel with Gale Albright

Kate Shrewsday

A thousand thousand stories

